Spring Luncheon

SPRING LUNCHEON 

Easter Sunday as an end to Joseph’s week off from school for Spring Break means we were dragging slooower than usual trying to get back into our normal routine this morning.  Sorting through the photos from yesterday’s luncheon at our house put some needed pep back into my step! This time of year means Spring is in full force and with it, the feeling of new beginnings. Our house was filled with family all day on Sunday and it made my heart happy. I’ve always truly enjoyed entertaining and have been known to get so excited about the entire process that I tend to get carried away with the amount of preparation that goes into everything. Lorenzo has learned by now that once the event planning train has left the station, it’s best to just sit back and let me continue the course. Yesterday was no exception. However, it definitely made for a day of fun memories and plenty of laughs.

We had stations set up around the house for our Minute to Win It themed Easter games from my previous post. Just as I suspected, the gloves were off and it was a full on competition around here! Whether celebrating Easter or hosting a Spring time lunch for family and friends, I like to put the focus on these areas:

Bar Cart / Drink Station: – As I’ve raved about before, I am obsessed with my recent bar cart purchase from Society Social. There’s endless possibilities for what you can do in styling it to change the feel of a room. I decided to do a Mimosa Bar and kept things concise with champagne flutes, a bottle of my favorite Champagne (Veuve Cliquot), Sparkling Wine (Chandon) and Prosecco (La Marca), a carafe of Orange Juice & a Strawberry / Banana blend, colorful cocktail napkins and a beautiful spring floral arrangement from Mark’s Garden.  Mark’s Garden is my favorite florist and they are always so accommodating by allowing me to bring in my own vases and filling them with gorgeous blooms. Since they are just a few miles from  our house, I always drop in to pick up the flowers once they are ready which also saves on delivery costs. Bonus!

Dining Table:  I planned an Italian menu for lunch so I wanted to keep the table setting in theme of that. We served dishes family style which meant keeping lots of room in the middle of the table for where platters and bowls would go. I found the butcher paper at Paper Source and knew it would be great as the table runner and would  also pair really well with simple white cloth napkins. I had Mark’s Garden create the two centerpieces focusing on white flowers with greenery.  Bella & Joseph dyed the Easter eggs at my parent’s house on Saturday for everyone’s place setting. To add a pop of color to the table, I made a few of the bunny ear napkin folds earlier in the week and also put yellow paper doilies underneath the water glasses. We added wine glasses along with a few bottles of red and white just before everyone sat down. The whole scheme complimented each other really well and everything came together nicely once the food and drinks were on the table.

Dessert Bar: Our family has been known to go overboard in making a variety of so many desserts that things can go to waste. We tried to avoid that as much as possible this year so made sure to offer just 2 different types. Bella and Joseph worked their magic on decorating adorable cupcakes with my parents ahead of time and I picked up a carrot cake from the bakery. Mark’s Garden again came through with a beautiful tall arrangement and I printed out a cute little Easter themed sign that I found online a few weeks ago. I put it in one of our frames and simple as that, the dessert bar came together.

We had a really wonderful six hour leisurely afternoon which gave me plenty of time to be able to find that balance of hosting but also enjoying time with our guests which is always key.

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

